St Thomas à Becket church, Capel
Commemorating the Fallen from the parishes of Tudeley and Capel in Kent, there are 33 names on the war memorial in St Thomas à Becket church.
TO THE GLORY OF GOD AND
IN GRATEFUL REMEMBRANCE
OF THE MEN OF THE PARISHES/ OF TUDELEY AND CAPEL WHO
FELL IN THE GREAT WAR
1914 – 1918
THEIR NAME LIVETH FOR EVERMORE
The church is no longer in regular use, although it remains much loved. It is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.
The church is open for occasional services. It is open to visitors daily from 10am to 4pm. At other times during reasonable daylight hours visitors can call at the white farmhouse opposite for the key. It has notable 13th century wall paintings, and a yew tree under which Becket himself is supposed to have preached.