St Mary the Virgin, Speldhurst
41 names of those who lost their lives in the 1914-1918 war are recorded on the war memorial in the churchyard of the ancient St Mary the Virgin church in Speldhurst in Kent. This includes two Fallen who received the Croix de Guerre.
The grade II listed memorial takes the form of a cross on a slim tapering obelisk, which is on an octagonal plinth and an octagonal three-stepped base. The cross and obelisk are made of sandstone from the quarry in nearby East Hoathly, Sussex. The inscriptions are on bronze plaques attached to four sides of the plinth and the two upper steps. There are also three War Graves in the churchyard.
THESE GAVE UP THEIR OWN LIVES THAT OTHERS MIGHT LIVE IN FREEDOM.
LET THOSE WHO COME AFTER SEE TO IT THAT THEIR NAMES BE NOT FORGOTTEN.
IN MEMORY OF THOSE WHO DIED IN THE GREAT WAR 1914 – 1918.
“Once upon a time there was a village in Kent called Speldhurst which had a beautiful church. This was known as St. Mary’s, and in that church lived a family of mice………….” Speldhurst must be one of the only churches to have a link on their website called ‘the mice’! This links to a charming book written for children by verger and local artist and historian, Tony Streeter.
The church is also well-known for its stained glass windows designed by Burne-Jones and William Morris